The Forbidden Composers

 In Archive

The Forbidden Composers, the first new perennial series, will feature music by oppressed composers of various eras. COSA will inaugurate this series in its fall 2015 concert of the same name on October 3, 2015, to recognize works by Jewish composers who were banned by the Nazi regime. These will include Hanns Eisler’s Suite for Orchestra No. 4 arranged by Steffen Schleiermacher; Erwin Schulhoff’s Suite for Chamber Orchestra; and Alexander Zemlinsky’s Chamber Symphony arranged by Richard Dünser. Gemma New, New Zealand native and New Jersey Symphony Orchestra’s Associate Conductor, will guest conduct in her first appearance with COSA.

Gemma New, Guest Conductor

For more information, click here.

Recent Posts